04 May 2015 / Erin Letter

Hey everyone!

Nothing huge happened this past week… A bunch of random things, but
if I were to recap the week, it would probably be me pouring my heart
out to people over and over again, asking them to just take a chance
and listen to our message.  I’ve come to the point where I’m tired of
people saying no all day… People keep telling us they’re Buddhist
and not interested and I stop them and am like “I took a break from
college, left my family and friends for a year and a half, came to a
country that’s completely different and where I couldn’t understand
language, I gave up all my money and am working every single day until
9 at night FOR YOU TO BE HAPPY AND ALL WE ARE ASKING FROM YOU IS 10
MINUTES AND I AM WILLING TO SIT HERE ON THE CONCRETE GROUND AND TEACH
YOU IF YOU WILL NOT LET US IN YOUR HOME.” Good news is that it’s kind
of working because we handed out a ton of book of Mormons and got a
lot of numbers from people.  Or they just think we’re crazy haha.

On the the random things:
1. NEVER ask anyone how old they are here.  Akemi san has a bit of a
mental illness and long sorry short she’s progressing really well and
we made plans for her to meet up with our other investigator at the
train station so they can come to eikaiwa together.  So I asked her
how old she is so I could let the other investigator know and they
could recognize each other and she FREAKED OUT and yelled at me for 5
minutes about how rude and disrespectful I was.  Luckily we made up
for it by buying her juice and she forgot the whole thing.  But it was
actually way scary.

2. I met a family on my first day in yamato back in October and the
dad gave me their number and was interested but he got busy and his
wife didn’t like church.  I was going through our old numbers this
week and decided to call him and he came to church yesterday and got
taught by the elders and became an investigator.  Sweeeet.  Guess he
needed 7 months to get here.

3. So blessed to find some awesome people.  We only had 10 minutes
before district meeting so we decided to go house right next to the
church and got to teach a lesson right on doorstep.  And another lady
we stopped when we were riding our bikes agreed to come to the church
and be taught after we only talked to her for seriously 2 minutes.  I
thought she was joking at first.

Okay sorry this is so boring but I can’t remember anything from this
week.  Love you all!
Erin

Leave a Reply

