11 May 2015 / Erin Letter

Hey everyone!

So this week was pretty rough for lessons… Literally every single one of our investigators and appointments cancelled on us.  But it was still way awesome; I’m loving the sun and warm weather and, of course, missionary work.  Literally it is my favorite thing ever.  When people ask me what my hobbies are i just say dendo.  This week there was a huge festival in our city and the streets were completely packed with people and I got soooo excited I would walk out and be like “LET’S TALK TO EVERYONE.”  My comp thinks I’m crazy and she doesn’t talk to me about normal things until after nightly planning because she says she knows I get annoyed when she interrupts my DENDO mode hahaha.  Also having a young comp is super awesome because sometimes she’s willing to only take 30 min meals so we can go DENDO more.  I love it.

Anyways, I read a quote from conference this week… “Many of the things you can count do not count.  Many of the things you cannot count really do count.”  So true.  Sums up this week and my mission and probably life.  We saw so many little success that amount to no number but the effect it had on me and others was huge.  So many times this week my heart was so full and happy and I was like “THIS IS WHY I AM HERE.”

So some random things…

  1. I threw another last minute cookie class and 9 non members showed up… Investigators, people we met on the street that week, former investigators, English class students, and people who live near the church.  I was blown away by how many people came and it was way fun and a great way to get people in the church.  Afterwards Fordiani SHIMAI and I delivered cookies to our investigators.  I have a solid testimony now that cookies will open more doors (and hearts) for you than most other things.
  1. We took an English class student to a ward sports night and got to teach her during it.  The next day she came to the Saturday night session of stake conference… And the theme was WARD COUNCIL.  She had nooooo clue what was going on and I had to try to explain to her what elders quorum and a ward and a bishop and the priesthood are.  But… it actually turned out really good!  We gave her the restoration pamphlet with the picture of Christ holding the lamb on it and I told her how she was like the lamb… Then she goes to the elders, points to the lamb, and says “this is me!”  And starts bahhhing and making lamb noises hahaha.
  1. We are being so blessed with finding awesome people.  Yesterday we talked to a woman on the street and got her address and set an appointment to do FHE with her family in 2 weeks.  So excited.  I love meeting so many people everyday and getting to know them and their trials and then being able to testify about how they can find perfect peace and happiness and joy.  IT IS THE BEST THING EVER.

Well, it’s been good!  A little hard because our investigators who’ve taken the lessons and are at the commandments are struggling… They just don’t have the faith to move on.  I’ve been here for 7 months and these people have become my best friends and family and it kills me to know that they still haven’t received the saving ordinance they need.  It makes me soooo sad to know that they aren’t feeling the joy and forgiveness and peace that they could.  And sometimes I panic a little when I think about it too much.  I love them too much to let them miss out on this.  Praying that they will progress!

Love you! Erin

Leave a Reply

