07 Sept 2015 / Erin Letter

Hey everyone!

I am so tired!  My whole mission all of my companions have told me I’m crazy for working this hard and that I’m going to hit a wall and burn out sometime.  Well, I’m pretty sure it’s happened this week.  I have never prayed so hard to be able to make it through until the next meal/appointment.  I am so exhausted that it’s hard to talk to people anymore and I can barely study and I can’t make it until 10:30 lights out before I am out on my futon.  Holy cow it’s like a different world now… Stress and exhaustion is real.  And now I’m getting sick.  Soooo I’m going to rest today and hopefully you’ll get a happy email next week.

Our investigator situation is really, really sad so I’m just going to focus on a bunch of random good things of the week:

-i looooooove going to the neighborhood of members and dendoing because I get to knock on the door of all of their neighbors and drop their name and it creates SUCH a good connection.  It’s funny how in some neighborhoods, all the neighbors know that the member belongs to a church.  And for other members, none of them know.  A huge lesson to me.  But we went and found a way awesome mom in the bishop’s neighborhood last week… Hoping it turns out!

-my ability to help and sympathize and comfort and hug people has, unfortunately, not grown on my mission as I had hoped.  I went on splits this week and the girl I was over just starts crying about a few problems and I am the worst when people are crying so I just made her cookies while she cried haha.

-went to MLC this week and it was waaaaaay awesome.  Had to wake up at 4:30 which was way not awesome but worth it because we went to the park in Yokohama (I got to go back to my old area WOOOOOO) that missionary work in Japan started.  We read the journal of heber j. Grant and others who were here and sat in the park among joggers and playing kids and sang hymns and had a testimony meeting.  It was actually way powerful and it made me realize that we actually are making a difference.

-“Our ultimate purpose is to unite parents and children in the home, firm in the faith and sealed for eternity.” -Elder Bednar.  I heard this at MLC and it changed me.  How much different would every day be if I looked at every person I spoke to with this in my mind?  Instead of just a purpose to invite them to church or to take lessons, but having this be the purpose.  Way amazing.  And how everyone should live their life.

Okay love you all!!! Last cool quote I read this week:

“Prayer is not a substitute for work, it is a desperate effort to work further and to be efficient beyond the range of one’s powers.  It is not the lazy who are most inclined to prayer; those pray most who care most, and who, having worked hard, find it intolerable to be defeated.”

Erin

Leave a Reply

