09 Nov 2015 / Anna Letter

Hello Everyone!!

I am in Kumamoto!!! Glad to say that I have hit all 3 islands… It
was so weird flying back up… It was me and 4 other missionaries on
the plane back to Fukuoka, and they all happened to be ending their
missions and going home. And they kept on asking me what airport my
parents were waiting at, etc. 6 weeks too early!!! Anyway, I didn’t
realize how different Okinawa was… It really felt like I was coming
home to Japan. I can’t even describe to you the difference.., but
there is a big one. Anyway I am happy that I get to spend my last 6
weeks here. One embarrassing thing… I forgot how to use the tickets
to get on the train. I kept on doing it wrong and somebody had to
correct me. I used to scoff at those people and now I am one of them!

Anyway Kumamoto is sooooo beautiful. But I do miss Shuri so much. My
companion is Sister Luczak from Utah. Her twin is in the Kobe
mission!!!! Except they had no ties to Japan whatsoever. All we do is
talk about twin stuff all the time. It is seriously the best.

Yesterday was stake conference and so we got to see President Egan!!
But I still haven’t been able to meet any ward members and that means
I only have 5 Sunday’s in this ward.

Anyway in my past experience I think it takes about 2 weeks to really
get a feel of the area and know where the spirit wants you to go and
actually start making appointments with people who will listen.. The
easiest way for me to do so is to feel things out while biking. But I
only have 6 weeks here, and we set a goal to see a baptism. And we
just don’t have time to do anything else but sit down in front of the
map and ask HF where he wants us to be. And that is what we did. And
on Saturday night we went to this place we had seen on the map and
prayed about. And I was sick to my stomach because if it wasn’t good
then I wouldn’t know where else to go. But then we had the biggest
miracle on my mission: we knocked on a door at 8:30 pm and this lady
answers it and let’s us right on in like she had been expecting us.
And we were able to sing and pray and then have a lesson and we taught
her about Jesus Christ and asked her to be baptized. And then we set a
date for December 12 and she said she wants to prepare for that day.
The spirit was so strong.

We have had a lot of cool instances like that– of is knowing we are
where Heavenly Father wants us to be. Anyway I am so grateful to be
here. I love it. I can’t tell you how much I love talking and
teaching.

Love you all and thanks for the prayers and everything!

 

Leave a Reply

